School Cash Online

Zone 6 Edwin Parr winner - Ms. Leah Benson

Zone 6 Edwin Parr winner - Ms. Leah Benson


Grasslands is very pleased to announce that Uplands Elementary School teacher, Ms. Leah Benson is the Alberta School Boards Association, Zone 6 Edwin Parr winner! Ms. Benson is the first teacher to be awarded this honour in Grasslands. 

Well done, Leah! You are an incredible ambassador for all of Grasslands.

On behalf of the Grasslands Board of Trustees, Superintendent Scott Brandt, and the rest of Grasslands, we would like to congratulate Ms. Benson on this significant accomplishment.


Edwin Parr homesteaded in the Meanook area near Athabasca in 1920. Prior to 1925 he began his long career in educational affairs as a member of the board with the George Lake School District. He served as chair of the board with the Athabasca School Division and was on the council of the County of Athabasca from its formation in 1959 until his death in January 1963. Edwin Parr was president of the Alberta School Trustees' Association from 1956 to 1962. Ed Parr, as he was known to all, instituted an "Annual Teacher Award" in his school system. Each year a member of the teaching staff was chosen to receive a gold watch and an appropriate certificate for long and meritorious service.

In searching for a way in which his memory might be perpetuated and to honour the profession he so dearly respected, the Alberta School Trustees' Association established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award in 1964.

Certain criteria for the award is:
• Any first year K-12 teacher is eligible for nomination.
• A teacher must hold an Interim Professional Certificate or other valid Alberta teaching authority.
• First year teaching experience must be completed in Alberta from a school jurisdiction that is a member of the ASBA.